Research banner

Heriot-Watt University

Centre for Innovation in Carbon Capture and Storage

An interdisciplinary, innovative, and international leading centre for research at the interface between science and engineering.

CICCS Research is cross-disciplinary bringing together engineers, chemists, physicists, mathematicians, bio-scientists and geologists. The Centre collaborates and is supported by industries, international energy policy advisors, government organisations, regional development agencies, national and international universities and research centres. CICCS have numerous collaborations with Zhejiang University, National Taiwan University and Hong-Kong University. Our industrial collaborators/sponsors over the years include Krohne, China Huaneng Group, CPI, Future Blends Ltd, Lu'An Ltd, Johnson Matthey, Tees Valley Unlimited, Air Products, MCM, PSE, Osprey, Torftech, Costain, Shell, Caterpillar, E.ON, Rolls-Royce, Interconnector, ENEL, etc


The Centre has contributed and is currently active in a large number of collaborative research and development programmes, as outlined below.

Current Selected Key Projects

Solar fuels via engineering innovation, EPSRC, £1.2M

CO2 injection and storage - Short and long-term behaviour at different spatial scales, EPSRC, £1.2M (led Imperial).

CO2TRIP: Long-term research activities in the area of advanced CO2 Capture Technologies for Clean Coal Energy Generation, FP7-PEOPLE-2013-IRSES, €300k.

Performance of flow meters with dense phase CO2 and CCS recovery streams, UKCCSRC-EPSRC, £185k.

Centre for Doctoral Training in Critical Resource Catalysis – CRITICAT, EPSRC, £5.4M (led St Andrews).

Novel electrochemical cells for high-efficiency conversion of CO2 to CO fuel, SFC-Hong Kong, £20k.

Low carbon jet fuel through integration of novel technologies for co-valorisation of CO2 and biomass, EPSRC, £1.8M.

Novel adsorbents applied to integrated energy-efficient industrial CO2 capture, EPSRC, £1M.

MILEPOST, Microscale Processes Governing Global Sustainability €3m ERC Advanced Award